From Normandy to Charente-Maritime, immerse yourself for several days in the history of New France and retrace the steps of your ancestors

4 to 7 days sightseeing tour

In the 17th century, 4,894 French people emigrated to Canada. Among them, 958 came from Normandy. Discover the history of the Percherons who left for New France, starting in Tourouvre and its Museum of French Emigration to Canada. Why did they leave France, where did they settle and under what conditions? Many of them settled in Canada and are among the most numerous descendants today (Tremblay, Gagnon, Guyon, Fortin, Boucher...).

Also explore the links between North America and France through the D-Day landing beaches and especially for the Canadian allies at Juno Beach.You can also visit the Canadian War Memorial, an interpretation centre of the Canadian involvement in the Second World War, as well as the Bény-sur-Mer cemetery a few kilometres from Courseulles-sur-Mer. And if your stay is in August, you can enjoy the festival "The Acadian Week" which highlights Acadian culture every year.

Not far from Normandy, walk in the footsteps of Jacques Cartier, a native of Saint-Malo who discovered Canada in 1534. This great Renaissance explorer opened up the North American continent to France via the St. Lawrence River.

The Charente-Maritime region and its seafront have seen many ships set sail for Canada. In the Marennes basin, a visit to the magnificent, well-preserved village of Brouage is a must if you want to follow in the footsteps of Samuel Champlain, founder of the city of Quebec in 1608. The town of Rochefort, an essential historical centre for understanding the strategic importance of this town and its links with New France. The city of La Rochelle was one of the main French ports to maintain relations with New France: trade, fishing and embarkation of approximately 4000 emigrants, of all origins, embarked in La Rochelle towards the Gulf of St. Lawrence, for the period 1628 to 1662 alone. 

While Champlain had not yet been born, the French adventure in Canada had already begun in the 15th century with the cod fishermen and whale hunters. Discover the city of Bordeaux and its special link with Quebec.

01.

Places of memory of the Norman emigration

(2 days)

Let yourself be guided by the discovery tours:

 in the footsteps of the pioneers and key figures of the Norman emigration to New France. The Museum of Percheron Emigration in Canada will provide you with many mediation tools on the subject.

02.

North Americans in the Second World War

(1 day)

Visit Juno Beach. and its interpretation centre, the Bény-sur-Mer Canadian War Cemetery a few kilometres from Courseulles-sur-Mer. More widely, discover the history of the D-Day landings of 6 June 1944 on the landing beaches.

03.

Jacques Cartier

(½ day)

Go through the Quebec House where the beautiful province is honoured by temporary exhibitions and the Jacques Cartier Museum near Saint-Malo.

The history of Quebec has been marked by many events that continue to be told by its inhabitants. The Maison du Québec in Saint-Malo regularly offers exhibitions on the history of Quebec, which is highlighted in the Breton city thanks to a collaboration with local authorities and businesses as well as Canadian associations.

The exhibitions at the Maison du Québec focus on various aspects of the history and civilization of Quebec: its foundation, its development since then, but also its role in Europe and especially in France, through the explorations of Jacques Cartier, Samuel de Champlain and the Récollets.

04.

Acadian Line

(½ day)

Heading south, discover the Acadian line, which includes 38 houses built in 1773 to accommodate Acadian families expelled from Canada. One of these houses is furnished with period furniture and now houses the Acadian Museum, which traces the history of the exiles from New France.

Visit the acadian farm museum in Archigny.

05.

Places of memory of the Charente emigration

 (2 days)

Discover the land of Champlain by visiting the citadel of Brouage through its exhibition areas and its alleys. Observe the landscape in which your ancestors lived before their departure for New France from the Broue Tower in Saint Sornin. 

Discover Rochefort and the Charente chosen by the King of France to build and arm his ships. 

Walk the streets of the historic centre of La Rochelle where the ancestors waited for their departure. Learn more about this history by visiting the Museum of the New World.

06.

Places of memory Bordeaux-Quebec

(1 day)

Discover the city of Bordeaux and its special link with the Quebec.

Bordeaux had long been involved in whaling and cod fishing in Newfoundland. During the 18th century, as Canada's need for food and manufactured goods increased, Bordeaux also traded with Canada through the fur trade. In 1754, the Governor of New France, Montcalm, described to his Minister of the Navy how "In the present times, what this colony needs is fish, salt and naval supplies from Bordeaux."

In the 18th century, Bordeaux established itself as a new supply port for Canada. In 1731 and 1741, Bordeaux had sent 44 and 60 ships respectively to Canada. From 1742 to 1752, almost three times more, and from 1753 to 1755, already 90. The annual average of departures was then 30 ships, against only 19 for La Rochelle and 11 for Bayonne. Bordeaux thus took over from La Rochelle for commercial traffic between Canada, Louisbourg and south-west France.

More information : Read the article New Aquitaine in the History of New France

De la Normandie à la Charente-Maritime, immergez-vous plusieurs jours dans l’histoire de la Nouvelle France et retracez le parcours de vos ancêtres

Circuit touristique de 4 à 7 jours

Au XVIIe siècle, 4 894 Français ont émigré au Canada. Parmi eux, 958 venaient de la Normandie. Découvrez l’histoire des Percherons partis en Nouvelle-France, avec pour point de départ Tourouvre et son Musée de l’émigration française au Canada. Pourquoi ont-ils quitté la France, où se sont-ils installés, dans quelles conditions ? Beaucoup ont fait souche au Canada et comptent parmi les plus nombreux descendants à l’heure actuelle (Tremblay, Gagnon, Guyon, Fortin, Boucher…).

Explorez aussi les liens entre l’Amérique du Nord et la France à travers les plages du Débarquement et plus particulièrement pour les alliés canadiens à Juno Beach, centre d’interprétation de l’engagement des Canadiens dans la Seconde Guerre Mondiale, ainsi qu’au cimetière de Bény-sur-Mer à quelques kilomètres de Courseulles-sur-Mer. Et si votre séjour se déroule en août, vous pourrez profiter du festival « La semaine acadienne » qui met en avant la culture acadienne chaque année.

Non loin de la Normandie, marchez sur les traces de Jacques Cartier, natif de Saint-Malo et découvreur du Canada en 1534. Ce grand explorateur de la Renaissance ouvrit à la France le continent Nord-Américain par la voie du Saint-Laurent.

La Charente-Maritime et sa façade maritime ont vu de nombreux bateaux prendre le départ vers le Canada. Sur le bassin de Marennes, le passage par le magnifique village préservé de Brouage est incontournable pour retourner sur les traces de Samuel Champlain, fondateur de la ville de Québec en 1608. La ville de Rochefort, centre historique essentiel pour comprendre l’importance stratégique de cette ville et de ses liens avec la Nouvelle France. La ville de La Rochelle fut l’un des principaux ports français à entretenir des relations avec la Nouvelle France : commerce, pêche et embarquement d’environ 4000 émigrants, toutes origines confondues, embarqués à La Rochelle vers le golfe du Saint-Laurent, pour la seule période de 1628 à 1662. 

Alors que Champlain n’a pas encore vu le jour, l’aventure française au Canada avait débuté dès le XVe siècle avec les pêcheurs de morue et les chasseurs de baleines. Découvrez la ville de Bordeaux et son lien particulier avec le Québec.

01.

Lieux de mémoire de l’émigration normande

(2 jours)

Laissez-vous guider par les circuits de découverte :

 sur les traces des pionniers et des figures marquantes de l’émigration normande vers la Nouvelle France. Le Musée de l’Emigration percheronne au Canada vous offrira de nombreux outils de médiation sur le sujet.

02.

Nord-Américains dans la Seconde Guerre mondiale

(1 jour)

Visitez Juno Beach et son centre d’interprétation, le cimetière militaire canadien de Bény-sur-Mer à quelques kilomètres de Courseulles-sur-Mer. Plus largement, découvrez l’histoire du Débarquement du 6 juin 1944 sur les plages du débarquement.

03.

Jacques Cartier

(½ journée)

Passez par la Maison du Québec où la belle province est mise à l’honneur par des expositions temporaires et par le Musée Jacques Cartier près de Saint-Malo.

L’histoire du Québec a été marquée par de nombreux événements qui continuent d’être racontés par ses habitants. La Maison du Québec à Saint-Malo propose régulièrement des expositions sur l’Histoire du Québec, mis en avant dans la ville bretonne grâce à une collaboration avec les autorités et les entreprises locales ainsi que des associations canadiennes.

Les expositions de la Maison du Québec s’intéressent à divers aspects de l’histoire et de la civilisation du Québec : sa fondation, son développement depuis, mais aussi son rôle en Europe et surtout en France, à travers des explorations de Jacques Cartier, Samuel de Champlain et des Récollets.

04.

Ligne acadienne

(½ journée)

En prenant la route vers le sud, découvrez la ligne acadienne qui regroupe 38 des maisons construites en 1773 pour accueillir les familles acadiennes chassées du Canada. Une de ces maisons au type très particulier (construites en pisé ou en bousillis) est meublée d’époque et abrite aujourd’hui le Musée Acadien qui retrace l’histoire des exilés de la Nouvelle-France.

Visitez le musée de la ferme acadienne à Archigny.

05.

Lieux de mémoire de l’émigration charentaise

 (2 jours)

Découvrez la terre de Champlain en visitant la citadelle de Brouage au travers de ses lieux d’exposition et de ses ruelles. Observez le paysage dans lequel évoluaient vos ancêtres avant leur départ vers la Nouvelle-France depuis la Tour de Broue à Saint Sornin. 

Découvrez Rochefort et la Charente choisis par le Roi de France pour construire et armer ses vaisseaux. 

Arpentez les rues du centre historique de La Rochelle où les ancêtres attendaient leur départ. Approfondissez cette histoire en visitant le Musée du Nouveau Monde.

06.

Lieux de mémoire Bordeaux-Québec

(1 jour)

Découvrez la ville de Bordeaux et son lien particulier avec le Québec.

Bordeaux était depuis longtemps impliquée dans la pêche à la baleine et à la morue à Terre-Neuve. Au cours du XVIIIe siècle, alors que les besoins du Canada en nourriture et en produits manufacturés augmentent, Bordeaux fait également du commerce avec le Canada par le biais de la traite des fourrures. En 1754, le gouverneur de la Nouvelle-France, Montcalm, décrit à son ministre de la Marine comment « Dans les temps présents, ce dont cette colonie a besoin, c’est du poisson, du sel et des fournitures navales de Bordeaux. »

Au XVIIIe siècle, Bordeaux s’impose comme un nouveau port d’approvisionnement pour le Canada. En 1731 et 1741, Bordeaux avait envoyé respectivement 44 et 60 navires au Canada. De 1742 à 1752, presque trois fois plus, et de 1753 à 1755, déjà 90. La moyenne annuelle des départs est alors de 30 navires, contre seulement 19 pour La Rochelle et 11 pour Bayonne.  Bordeaux prend ainsi le relais de La Rochelle pour le trafic commercial entre le Canada, Louisbourg et le sud-ouest de la France.

Plus d’information : Lire l’article la Nouvelle Aquitaine dans l’Histoire de la Nouvelle France